top of page

AT Gear Review: Part 1

Most people dream of thru hiking the Appalachian Trail their entire life. They meticulously test gear on shakedown hikes in order to find the perfect equipment to carry them from Georgia to Maine. Some folks spend thousands of dollars on a pack, sleep system, shelter, and other items necessary to backpack, only to completely change their setup before crossing the first state line.


I took a more unconventional route when it came to gear. In December of 2020, I decided to thru hike the AT the following year. Based on a March start date, I would have just three short months to purchase and test most of my gear. This tight deadline meant I couldn’t wait on items to go on sale and that I would have to pay full price for a majority of things. I quickly realized that in a quest to save money, I would have to compromise pack weight.

Weighing in at Amicalola Falls prior to starting at Springer Mountain on March 22, 2021. I named my pack “Big Girl” as she was in fact quite large

When I weighed my pack at Amicalola it weighed 40lbs. I am pleased to say that I got my weight down significantly to a still behemoth 30lbs and that I didn’t have to send home a ton of gear to do it. I'm not sure what my base weight was, but I'm sure it hovered around 20lbs. I loved most of my equipment and didn’t want to part with a majority of items, but some items I was ready to throw off a mountain.


I tried my hardest to be organized and meticulous in my gear purchases. Looking back I feel like creating spreadsheets were a waste of time, but I know it helped me keep track of my spending and make decisions regarding gear purchases.

The spreadsheet I used for my "Big Three" items": pack, sleep system, and shelter

Obviously, a lot of time and thought went into determining each item I hit the trail with. I didn’t summit Katahdin with most of the items on my original list, and I bought new gadgets and upgraded items along the way.


In this gear review blog series, I will discuss all the gear I hiked with, from clothing, toiletries, comfort items, to my cooking setup, sleep system, and footwear. This week I’ll start the series with an in-depth look at my AT backpack.



Gossamer Gear’s website image for the Mariposa. Mine never looked this small and compact!

I LOVE this pack! Not only did I use it on my thru, when I worked as the Trailer Caretaker for Blue Ridge Hiking Company, the Mariposa was what we outfitted our guests with. This pack is an absolute workhorse and can do it all. It has tons of pockets for external storage, has a spacious main compartment, and is as ultralight as you can get without sacrificing comfort.


Per Gossamar Gear’s website, this is a 60L pack with a capacity to carry 35lbs. Needless to say, I was over capacity at the beginning of my hike and still teetered close to the edge once I dropped my heavy winter gear.




My first time testing my Mariposa on a shake down on the Foothills Trail in SC, February 2021. I’m not sure how much my pack weighed on this trip, but you can tell I had it filled to the brim

It took a while for me to figure out where to store things in a way that would allow me easy access to essentials, but after several weeks on trail I figured out exactly where each piece of gear would live in my pack. The Mariposa boats 7 outer pockets, so there is plenty of room to store all the necessities. I kept my tent in the large outer side pocket, items I might need quickly in the outer mesh pocket, snacks in the hip belt pockets, and everything I wanted to keep dry safely inside a trash compactor bag in the main compartment.


My only wish with this pack is that it was waterproof. HyperLite Gear has similar packs that are made from DCH material, which in my understanding is basically Dyneema. This material is ultra light and waterproof. Several of my trail friends used HyperLite packs, Truffles, Hangman, and Bug Bite included, and spoke very highly of them. Truffles’ favorite thing about this pack is that because it was waterproof, he never had to worry about stopping to put on a rain cover and could leave it outside his tent at night in the rain.

The Mariposa has multiple pockets and straps that make it easy to hang things from the outside of the pack. I hung my camp shoes, sweat rag, sit pad, and Luci light all from the outside of my pack.

Prior to my thru hike, I used Osprey packs on my backpacking trips. Osprey is a staple in the outdoor community and has been making packs for decades. Their packs tend to be a little heavier than the new ultralight packs that are becoming popular, but Osprey continues working to stay competitive and has several lightweight options. I was torn between buying a larger Osprey pack or getting the Mariposa for the AT, and ultimately went with Gossamer Gear’s pack because it was endorsed by several long-distance hikers I really admire.


Final Thoughts


I think that I will continue using my Mariposa for years to come. I would like to condense the rest of my gear so that I could switch to a smaller pack, maybe I’ll downsize to Gossamer Gear’s Gorilla 50 or be able to get my hands on a waterproof pack.


Been There, Done That


With so many options and new garage companies popping up daily, it can feel overwhelming and confining to commit to a single pack. My advice to someone in the market for a backpack is to do some research and figure out what features are a must-have for you. Maybe you want multiple outer pockets, customizable colors, or waterproofing.


Looking for sales, discounts, or used packs is a great way to save a little extra money. I also recommend asking about a company’s return policy in case you get a pack, try it out, and realize it isn’t going to work for you.

Trekking along the trail in Virginia sometime in the spring, the rhododendron complimented my pack (and hat) well

Stay tuned for the next feature in this gear review series where I’ll go into detail about my sleep system!



bottom of page