top of page

Day 1: March 22, 2021 (7.4 miles)

Springer Mountain - Hawk Mountain Campsite


We are finally here! It feels like this day would never arrive, so to be sitting at camp before bed is baffling. I could not have asked for a better first day; Kayla, Allee, and I met at Dory's apartment around 7 this morning and she drove my car down to Amicalola Falls.

Beginning the day with the 4ish hour drive from Asheville, NC to Amicalola Falls in Dawsonville, GA

We wanted to take a starting picture at the arch, and thank goodness we decided NOT to do the almost 9 miles approach trail. Instead we got our picture, weighed our packs (mine is around 40lbs- yikes) and registered. I am officially hiker #1088!



Allee, me, Dory, and Kayla by in front of the arch at Amicalola Falls

The ranger told me if I have a hard time picking up my pack I shouldn't tote all that weight

From there Dory drove us to hour to Springer parking area and she hiked with us the mile to Springer. We took pictures without our packs and backtracked to the car where we loaded up our packs after lunch and were on our way!


New and shiny thru hiker posing for starting pictures at the plaque atop Springer Mountain

We crushed 3 miles in an hour and it felt so good to be out on a beautiful day. We had a snack by a stream and made it to the Hawk Mountain campsite by 4. We've had a super low key evening and took out time setting up camp and with dinner. We've met a handful of people but haven't had any significant convos yet. I'm excited for what tomorrow holds!

Packed out beers to celebrate our first night on trail

bottom of page