top of page

Day 168: September 6, 2021 (10 miles)

Abol Pines Campground - Abol Campground


***I didn't take any pictures on this day, so these photos are from other days on my hike***


Today felt like a strange placeholder in a grand adventure. We accomplished a lot today, but it all feels unnecessary when I think about what tomorrow holds. We got to sleep in this morning which felt great. Truffles and I were up around 9am, and our crew took our time packing up before going to the store for breakfast.


Apparently, there was a covid outbreak at Shaw's and everyone in the Dirty Bubble is sick... because of that, places are questioning if hikers were at Shaw's or if we know the Dirty Bubble. We managed to do a minor resupply without getting flagged and walked back to the bridge to stare at Mama K one last time before tomorrow.

Magic and Truffles on the climb up Katahdin 9/7/21

We started making our way to our campground around noon, but first we had to check in with the Rangers upon entering Baxter State Park. You'd think being at the end, they would make everything easy but no, lots of hoops to jump through. We blue blazed to our campsite and were able to set up before walking to Katahdin Steam to fill out thru hiker permits.


We got a ride back to camp and met Mikenlee, Hangman's girlfriend, who is summitting with us. She brought us all McGang Bangs and we feasted before being forced into our tents because of rain. I really can't wrap my head around the fact that this is our last night on trail. I am so happy I have nothing but beds and showers to look forward to, but this has been my last for 5 months. Tomorrow will be hard but amazing.

bottom of page