top of page

Day 109: July 9, 2021 (15 miles)

Wildcat Shelter - Fingerboard Shelter


Today totally kicked my butt! It felt like the 1st really hard terrain day we've had in a long time. I woke up early to rain and decided to go ahead and hike out in the downpour. In hindsight, I should have waited for friends because I can't use my phone (no Guthooks) but I made due. I hiked through the rain most of the morning and thankfully only got lost once... there was a really pretty waterfall and the terrain was very rugged and rocky - super pretty but tough! Lots of rock scrambles just made more difficult in the rain.


Thankfully the rain stopped midafternoon and I was able to dry my tent out during lunch while I waited for someone to catch me. Truffles and Hangman eventually arrived and I hiked out with them.

Hiking over rocks in the rain in NY

The terrain didn't ease up at all and it was slow going down the hill literally named "agony grind". The 3 of us passed through the "lemon squeeze" (Truffles waited so he could see "the show" of me shimming through with my pack on).


We made it to the shelter before 7pm; our original goal today was 20 miles but it become very clear no one had it in them to make that happen. Sticks and Slobber arrived and we ate dinner and built a fire. Hard days suck less with friends around. big day tomorrow!


bottom of page