top of page

Day 11: April 1, 2021 (8.3 miles)

Deep Gap - Carter Gap Shelter


Today felt like such a long day, in the best possible way. We woke up early to catch a shuttle to the First Baptist Church in Franklin because they do a pancake and bacon hiker feed every morning!

Sneak peak into the kitchen at Franklin's FBC, busy volunteers preparing food for hikers

The sweet people fed us, prayed over us, and took our pictures to mail home. It was yummy and made me feel right at home with my sweet country folks. Our ride back to Deep Gap with Bobby the Greek wasn’t until mid-morning, so I walked to the laundromat to dry out a couple of things. Afterward, we packed up and loaded into the truck to head back on trail. Poor Erika and Drew road in the truck bed…

Drew and Erika were such good sports about riding in the truck bed

The hike today was gradual and nice, but my calves HURT and at one point both my feet fell asleep while hiking… weird! Thankfully that went away and I hiked most of the day with Kayla and Erika.

Kayla, Erika, Magic, and Green posing on top of Standing Indian Mountain

We had a nice lunch, even though today was super clear and pretty (great views off Standing Indian Mountain) it was freezing!

My favorite trail lunch: spinach, cheese, and pepperoni wrap

We rolled up to the shelter around 4:30pm and tried to do all our camp chores in the sunlight. It is crazy windy a 4500’ so I am worried about freezing tonight. With the windchill it could get into single digits… hopefully my 0 degree bag and liner do the trick. Tomorrow looks long, hard, and cold. I am excited for another nero Saturday!

bottom of page