top of page

Day 114: July 14, 2021 (13 miles)

Pawling, NY - Wiley Shelter


Motivation was lacking today but we powered through. Thankfully I was able to sleep in until around 9am, then Gooey and I walked to the gas station in town to resupply and get coffee. I felt like I was holding the group back from getting on trail early, but thankfully when I got back to the pavilion everyone had decided to stay in town for lunch. We walked back into town and hung out at the coffee shop until the pizza place opened. I was able to order new shoes to be sent up trail - easily a highlight of my day!


After everyone had their fill of pizza, we headed back to camp to pack up, call a taxi, and get on trail. We didn't start hiking until close to 1:30pm, so I was worried about how long it would take to do 13 miles; I hate getting to camp late and I don't like feeling rushed. Thankfully the terrain ended up being pretty easy and everyone was able to cruise.


I hiked with Hangman for a while which was nice because I spend so much time with Truffles, I haven't really taken the time to get to know him one on one. We all stopped a few miles in for a break by a stream, and less than a mile back on trail we got some trail magic by this sweet older couple at the Dover Oak.

Trail magic at the Dover Oak on our last day in NY

The rest of the day was pretty uneventful. There were some climbs, lots of mud, and the most poorly maintained section of trail yet. I hiked with Truffles and he was nice (like always). Cooler trail magic right before the shelter, a quick dinner, and bedtime. CT tomorrow!

bottom of page