top of page

Day 115: July 15, 2021 (20.2 miles)

Wiley Shelter - Stoney Brook Campsite


***I didn't take any pictures on this day, so these photos are from other days on my hike***


Today was another mostly uneventful kind of day. We woke up in the rain, but thankfully stopped just as I was packing up my tent. I hiked out with Sticks and Slobber; the 3 of us did a short road walk (and missed the "Welcome to CT" sign) before climbing a big ole hill only to abruptly decent as soon as I had crested the ridge. There was still a lot of fog and plenty of pine trees, so the forest was beautiful a paired well with my ABBA playlist this morning.


Once on the other side of the climb, the trail followed a gushing river - it had to be close to flood stage. I took a blue blaze to continue along the river before crossing the beautiful Bull Covered Bridge and seeing more crazy white water.


Our group met up to resupply at this little country store before embarking on a road walk. There were lots of small waterfalls and Truffles and I walked and talked the whole way. I really like him.


Our road walk took us into the town of Kent, CT where I decided to spend no money and hung out at the visitors center while everyone else got Mexican food. We took our time leaving - Truffles and I dicked around town and got way behind everyone. Again we forwent the steep ass trail for a beautiful road walk along the river for more chatting. I don't want this hike to end because I don't want to have to say goodbye to him.


We got to camp and hung out at ate before retiring to my tent early. Hoping to swim in a waterfall tomorrow!

Truffles and Magic hiking through NY 7/14/21





bottom of page