top of page

Day 116: July 16, 2021 (17 miles)

Stoney Brook Campsite - Falls Village, CT


Motivation was at an all time low today... camp was beautiful in the early morning light by the river. This campsite was the one with the famous walless privy (aka open air privy)... I took great early morning poop on a toilet in nature the way God intended.

Truffles on the open air privy

The hike started by following along the river which was nice, but damn did I just not want to be hiking. I called my dad to try and feel a little better and that kind of helped, but once my group caught up we road walked to avoid a flooded section of trail.


The highlight of the day was seeing the fuzzy baby calf on the road walk, and the coffee and Gatorade from a gas station.


I was still feeling really down and dreaded the climbs coming up, so I went with Sticks and Gooey on a road walk all the way into camp for the night. We had to walk on the railroad a ways which was sketchy (only 1 train came), and the rest of the day we were on a flat road by the river. I listened to music and called my mom then talked to Sticks for a while. Nothing super eventful.


We got into town and took yet another cold shower in public (just a spigot on a building) before setting up camp in Toymaker's backyard. Since I was kind of down I tried to nap, but once everyone arrived it was hard to sleep. Truffles and I talked a while which was nice; we all sat around and ate pizza and chatted (I ate Knorr's because I'm broke). I hope I feel better tomorrow and am excited about the trail again soon... we're officially sub 700.

bottom of page