top of page

Day 128: July 28, 2021 (22 miles)

Bromley Mountain - Greenwall Shelter


Today was seriously such a great day of hiking (and I hate hiking). We woke up nice, warm, and cozy in our ski hut and took our time getting ready. Being so high up on the mountain it was chilly and foggy so it made leaving the hut hard, but the Maine Trail was rolling by 7:30am with some extra pep thanks to a rousing early morning rendition of Gooey's "Hiking to Maine" song.


The first few hours of hiking weren't that eventful; I lost my beloved staw and wasn't drinking while walking so I didn't have to stop and pee every hour. We climbed the biggest hill of the day and I honestly loved it - we traveled up through a gorgeous spruce forest and everything was so green and woody. There wasn't much of a view from the top (shocking), but Truffles and I chatted on the way down and I listed to an awesome Brené Brown podcast to pass the time.

Lunch with a view in VT

We had one more steep rock scramble before a nice view and break (I finally accidentally saw Pimento's nuts) before cruising to a shelter for lunch. From there we only had 8ish miles and the whole crew was hauling.


We walked around Little Rock Pond and it was too beautiful to pass up. Truffles and I stopped to swim and we laid out on the rocks and talked and kissed for almost 2 hours. It was literal perfection that I never wanted to end. Everything with him is so great but being at the lake felt really special.

Beautiful lake with sweet memories

We boogied for the last 5 miles (more pretty spruce forest!) before arriving to camp around 7:30pm and quickly setting up and eating. I love VT. I wish every day was this good.

bottom of page