top of page

Day 129: July 29, 2021 (15 miles)

Greenwall Shelter - Governer Clement Shelter


Today was a tough day motivation wise. Truffles and I were out of camp around 7am, but we were some of the last ones out because Hangman, Sticks, and Slobber wanted to "beat the rain" that was predicted for 3pm...


The day started with a good chunk downhill, but I quickly realized how much I was dragging when we approached our first climb. It wasn't even that long or steep but I was STRUGGLING. It's funny how I do the same thing every day and yet still face challenges.


Truffles was so patient and waited for me at the top per usual. We mosied on to the next shelter for a break before some downhill then another bigass climb. I again was going crazy slow. My legs felt so weak and heavy today; thank goodness we only planned to do 15 miles!


Somehow I survived the climbs and Truffles and I were able to chat the rest of the way. We hit the 500 miles to Katahdin sign and I legit teared up - I didn't expect to get so emotional.

Flood of emotions at this mile marker sign

We made it to camp just before the rain and got our tents up (bad idea, everything is flooded) and proceeded to cook with our friends in the shelter. Once we called it a night (at 6pm) I crawled into Truffle's tent and abandoned any ideas of sleeping on my own. We read and talked for hours, he even asked me to "go steady" and it looks like I have a real-life boyfriend now - even after trail! Funny how things have a way of working out. Not excited for rain and climbing tomorrow.

Truffles and Magic with less than 500 miles to go

bottom of page