top of page

Day 132: August 1, 2021 (15 miles)

Gilford Woods State Park - Luci's Lookout Shelter


Today was a pretty okay day. It started early; we wanted to try and beat the impending rain and all woke up around 5am, leaving around 6:30am. The trail lead us around a pretty lake and past a waterfall before going up a climb that I really thought would kill me. It was less than a mile and it took me nearly an hour to do... but Truffles waited patiently at the top like always and greeted me with a smile.


From there we cruised downhill and were able to maintain a decent speed all day. Thankfully the rain held off and we were able to keep moving and grooving all day - we didn't even stop for lunch! Thankfully there weren't too many big climbs and I was able to "no stoppie till the toppie" the rest of the day.


Nothing very eventful happened; no pretty views or super important convos hiking with Truffles. We just kept our heads down and hiked. We did have to do a 2.5 miles water carry up the last big hill, but I felt really strong and thankfully it went by fast. Because we were moving we made it to the unofficial shelter by 1pm and had plenty of time to chill.

Widow's Walk atop Luci's Lookout unofficial shelter in VT

The shelter has a widow's walk with AMAZING views and Truffles and I sat up there for hours. The rain held off until late afternoon. We definitely could have gone further but I am so thankful to be warm and dry tonight. I'll fall asleep snuggled up next to Truffles listening to the rain on the tin roof.

Truffles and Magic enjoying the views from Luci's Lookout

bottom of page