top of page

Day 133: August 2, 2021 (22 miles)

Luci's Lookout Shelter - Captin Stash's House


Today was a very blah day. I slept great in the shelter loft with the boys and we even "slept in" (still left by 9am). We had an easy couple of miles on trail before everyone collectively decided to take a blue blaze to a road in order to road walk to a deli for lunch.


The road walk ended up being a majority of gravel roads along a creek/through some gorgeous Vermont countryside. Truffles and I walked and talked the whole time and talked about our favorite houses along the way. I was feeling kind of down and over the hike and our group in general, but he helped to pep me up.

Pouting while eating a snack on the road walk

We hopped back on trail for a couple of miles (uphill, ugh) and descended to another road to walk to the deli. In typical cheapskate fashion, I opted to eat my tuna for lunch instead of spending money on a sandwich. Everyone was getting on my nerves - you can only spend so much time with people before they start getting annoying.


Once we finished lunch we had a bit more road walking to get back to trail. Truffles and I had our first little argument over a misunderstanding but were quickly able to resolve it (and kiss and makeup). Since I was feeling so blah and I hated hiking, I wasn't looking forward to the last 8 miles on trail, so I followed Sticks and Gooey on the road into West Hartford, VT.

Pretty house with fun yard art somewhere in VT

The road was beautiful and I listened to a book so thankfully it went by fast. In town, we were able to camp in a trail angel's beautiful yard (complete with a waterfall, outlets, and a custom-built privy!) Truffles and I stayed up talking for a while. I told him I was in love with I'm. Yay!

Gooey "showering" in the waterfall at Captain Stash's house

bottom of page