top of page

Day 134: August 3, 2021 (11 miles)

Captain Stash's - Velvet Rocks Shelter


Today was exactly what I needed after feeling so blah yesterday. We woke up without an alarm which was nice because it meant I got to snuggle with Truffles longer. We were on trail around 9am and Truffles and I took our time climbing. Since today was our last day in VT I tried really hard to soak up all the beauty this state has to offer. It has easily been my favorite, even the forest has been more vibrant than others.


Once we were up and over the last hill the terrain was super cruisey into town. We walked and talked and just had fun together as usual. We reconnected with our crew once the trail turned to a road and together we all walked to the Norwich General Store for a light resupply and booze cruise.


The last mile of VT is on a road and it's a tradition to drink along the "party mile". Truffles and I drank tall boys in the parking lot before embarking on our journey with more tall boys while singing our favorite T-Pain songs. Our whole crew had a photo shoot on the bridge by the border crossing.

The Maine trail has officially entered New Hampshire!

New Hampshire begins by strolling through Dartmouth college; it felt strange to be hiker trash on a college campus... I was very aware of how old I am. My mission was to get fruity frozen margs and we found a delicious place with just that.


After lunch, we went to a park to sort through resupply boxes and I legit took a drunk nap #hikertrash. We went to a co-op for a final resupply, then hiked out to the shelter. Big day tomorrow!

Magic and Truffles at the VT/NH border

bottom of page