top of page

Day 135: August 4, 2021 (22 miles)

Velvet Rocks Shelter - Smart's Mountain Fire Tower


Today was a big day! We took our time getting ready and Truffles and I were the last to leave. This has been the norm since I basically moved into the Duplex, but I don't mind because he and I get to hike together most of the day.


The biggest climb of the day was Moose Mountain, and the local trail club has a lot of funny signs in the area for shelter and things. Truffles and I joked about the "Spruce Moose" sign being for the Spector Moose monster (not to be confused with the Wompus Cat).

Funny trail sign "Matt Dustin stopped here -abruptly- Feb 2001"

There were lots of ups and downs all day. We ran into the rest of the boys on top of Moose Mountain and hung out for a while before beginning the super long descent. It felt like it took forever; I listened to my book and was crazy hangry. Thankfully Truffles and I were able to eat lunch at the base of the mountain before more PUDs.


Within the last couple miles, we ended up on a residential road with a super cute sign for trail magic at Bill Archer's house. We stopped in for beer and popsicles on the porch and chatted for a while with Bill's son, John.

Decorative sign for trail magic at Bill Archer's house

We decided to road walk to the trailhead and I got a truckbed hitch (Truffles wanted to walk, sucker). I took a blue blaze to get to the top of Smart's Mountain. It was a lovely, gradual uphill along a stream before it turned into a hellish climb that seemingly went straight up to meet the AT. Between the end of the blue blaze and the steep climb to the tower, my legs were DEAD. I was really cranky coming into camp. Truffles and I went to bed ASAP. Hoping for a better mood tomorrow.

View from the top of Smart's Mountain fire tower

bottom of page