top of page

Day 136: August 5, 2021 (20 miles)

Smart's Mountain Fire Tower - Hiker's Welcome Hostel


Today started off like complete ass. Because Truffles and I both were in bad moods last night (and got to camp late), we didn't really get to enjoy the fire tower. The sunset we pretty, but I kind of felt like if you've seen one you've seen them all.

Sunset at Smart's Mountain Fire Tower from the previous night, 8/4/21

The day started with a significant descent. Truffles, Hangman, Pimento, and I hiked down together but didn't say much, we all were in sour moods. At the bottom of the mountain, everyone decided to road walk around Mount Cube. Truffles and I walked together and he was so patient with me; I was super hateful because of my bad mood (and just being aggravated with our whole tramily) but he put up with me and didn't hold it against me. He helped to get me in a better mood and by the end of our road walk (which turned into bushwhacking over some logging roads), we were both laughing.


We caught up with everyone at a road and got the BEST trail magic ever - Legion from Hiker's Welcome Hostel was offering FREE slack packing for the last 10 miles of our day. This improved everyone's mood, especially when we learned there was a bar halfway through. We cranked out 5 miles and I was able to booze cruise the remaining 5 miles. The owner of the Greenhouse Restaurant was super laid back and sat at the bar chatting with us while we ate and drank.


Truffles and I hiked the remaining 5 miles together and had all kinds of weird conversations about our future and our previous sex lives... awkward and strange, but necessary in the long run. We made it to the hostel and talked to Legion for a long time before I took an outdoor shower and got in bed. Starting the Whites tomorrow!

Mountain view from Hiker's Welcome Hostel

bottom of page