top of page

Day 149: August 18, 2021 (15 miles)

Spec Pond Campsite - Waterfall Stealth Site


Today felt like the longest and most mentally challenging day in a really long time. At this point, I’m too close to the end to want to quit, but I think about going home and being done hiking constantly.


The day began in the rain and mist, thankfully it’s not so cold out that it makes being wet miserable. The climb up Old Spec was difficult enough but manacle until the very end when you had to scale a sheer rock face. Doing this wet was really scary for me and I literally bear crawled up most of it. Thankfully the descent wasn’t as steep, but it still took a long time.


By the time I arrived at Grafton Notch parking lot, the majority of the morning was gone. In the parking lot our crew enjoyed some trail magic from a flip flopper’s mom along with the company of Chewy, Biscuit, Creature, and Dumb Horse before beginning the climb up Baldpate Mountain.

AT sign at the Grafton Notch parking lot

The mountain, according to Guthooks, is “Amicillola’s revenge” because of all the stairs, but no one said anything about all the flat rock face we’d have to traverse. I almost had a panic attack I got so scared, but Truffles waited for me and helped to make it better. Getting up and over the mountain felt impossible and took forever, I was mentally and physically spent by the time we got to a shelter for lunch.

Thankfully the terrain got easier and we decided to stop early at a stealth spot. This is one of the most beautiful spots I’ve ever seen! Truffles and I’s tent is right on a creek beside a waterfall with a swimming hole. Exhausted, excited for sleep!

Gooey taking a "bath" at our beautiful stealth site

bottom of page