top of page

Day 18: April 8, 2021 (10.6 miles)

NOC - Locust Cove Gap


***I didn't take many photos on 4/8/21, so some of these photos are from different dates***


I am so proud of myself for absolutely kicking ass today! Today was hands down the hardest day on trail; I’d heard the climb out of the NOC was hard and it lived up to the hype. The first hour was miserable, it didn’t help that I was hungover. I made it like a quarter of the way up and was super proud of myself until I checked Guthooks…

Green and I at Standing Indian Mountain 4/1/21

I was feeling sorry for myself when a woman named Nemo hiked up. She was a total Godsend! We hiked together the rest of the morning until lunch and literally all we did was climb. It was miserable, but we made it happen. We stopped for lunch at Sassafras shelter to dodge the rain, and I caught up with Ranger and Bug Bite. The three of us climbed the last mile to Cheoah Bald and the view was beautiful! It’s amazing we’re traveled 150 miles together.

Ranger, Bug Bite, and I (the Asheville gals) atop Cheoah Bald

The descent to our campsite felt like it took forever, but we finally made it. It has turned into tent city! Guthooks said this campsite would hold 6 tents, and we have a solid 20. It’s the tramily plus Maple and Syrup, Rat King, Joe Dirt, Lady Bug, Ball Park, Shepard, and some random section hikers. I am so glad the day is over and that I survived… Ready for a break at home.

Bug Bite posing by the famous tree in Bly Gap 3/30/21

bottom of page