top of page

Day 19: April 9, 2021 ( 11.7 miles)

Locust Cove Gap - Cable Gap Shelter


***I didn't take many photos on 4/9/21, so some of these photos are from different dates***


Today was a really good day! It was hard, but I’m proud of myself for getting through the steep sections. The day started off with me feeling really good and vibing to some music. I passed some section hikers before a super nice descent to Stecoah Gap where I got an apple for trail magic. I called mom before concurring Jacob’s Ladder… It was so steep but thankfully it was the hardest part of the day.

All smiles on the climb into NC 3/30/21

I hiked the whole day alone and it was super nice, my calves didn’t hurt and I felt strong. I stopped at Hogback Gap for lunch with a group of high school girls in the Scouts training for a summer at Philmont. I chatted with them and their parents for a bit before cranking out the last 4 miles.

Leaving King Tutt's trail magic 3/26/21

I got to camp around 2:30pm and we all just chilled with our feet in the creek in the sunshine for a while. Party Dave and Drew caught some crawdads and we all just chatted for a while. It was super nice.

Sitting by the creek at Cable Gap Shelter

We are going to crank out the last 6ish miles to Fontana tomorrow and are taking a 0 on Sunday. We’re hoping to rent a pontoon boat on Sunday before I get off trail.

bottom of page