top of page

Day 20: April 10, 2021 ( 6.5 miles)

Cable Gap Shelter - Fontana Village In


What a day! We started with a night hike out of the shelter at 4am, we knew a storm was coming so we wanted to get out of camp before the rain started. I don’t know if it was the fact that it was so early or that it was dark, but I struggled on the climb out of the shelter. Once we got to the top of the mountain we could see the lights of the Fontana Dam which was cool.

A walking stick I found near Bly Gap. Sad to say I left it there rather than tote it to Maine 3/30/21

The descent felt like it took forever, and I literally shit myself because I thought I could wait for a toilet… my attempt to dig a cathole was unsuccessful. With my undies in a plastic bag, I waddled into the marina at 7:30am completely dry. Our tramily bopped around at the dock for a while before catching a shuttle to the village.

Hanging out at the Fontana Marina 4/11/21

I was on the fence about going home tonight or tomorrow, but once the tramily reserved a room at the Inn and booked a pontoon boat for Sunday I was sold. We got drunk on the porch of the general store while doing laundry before seeing how many people could fit in our cabana room.

Hanging on the porch at the Fontana Village General Store with my favorite thru hiking dog, Maple

We got dinner in the Village and went to play games in the game room before going to bed. We had 10 people in our room with a lot of sleeping pads on the floor. Boat tomorrow!!!

bottom of page