top of page

Day 66: May 26, 2021 (13 miles)

Stealth Site - Middle Creek Campground


Today felt like an emotional rollercoaster and unfortunately ended on the low side. The day started great - DQ and I left camp by 7:30am excited to road walk on the Blue Ridge Parkway. DQ had a friend coming to visit and the plan was for her to take us up the trail closer to Glasgow so we could link up with Creature and Dumb Horse.

Passive aggressive graffiti where the AT crosses the BRP

We started road walking with Sticks, Slobber, and Pimento but eventually picked up Gooey, Truffles, and Hangman. I’m sure we looked ridiculous road walking but we got a couple things of small trail magic and even had a park ranger stop and chat for a while.

One of my first days hiking with Truffles, Hangman, Pimento, and Gooey... the 5 of us ended up finishing the trail together!

Things were great until DQ told me he decided to skip ahead 60+ miles to catch up with Banjo (his old hiking partner). It really bummed me out because we made this plan together, the whole reason I left Creature and Dumb Horse in the 1st place was to hike with him and because I thought he liked me and wanted to spend time with me.

Gooey pretending to be a Junior Park Ranger

I spent the whole afternoon super upset and butthurt, and it didn’t help that an afternoon thunderstorm soaked me. I cheered up at a shelter with Green, Truffles, Hangman, Pimento, Sticks and Slobber, and we decided to hike into a campground for dinner. My mood worsened and I decided to camp alone at the campground to decide what tomorrow will hold. I legit want to get off trail but will be so disappointed in myself. I am alone and sad.

Hiking through a rhododendron tunnel, my favorite!

bottom of page