top of page

Day 67: May 27, 2021 (17.3 miles)

Middle Creek Campground - Marble Spring Campsite


Today's motivation was the word “trudge”. I woke up this morning legit ready to get off trail. I called my mom crying while waiting for breakfast at the campground and she told me to eat and see if it would help. Thankfully my parents told me I didn’t have to prove anything to anyone, but that I could quit if I wanted but that I shouldn’t quit on a bad day.

The guillotine rock formation

I think the only reason I got remotely motivated to hike was because of a potential slackpack, but even after that fell through I decided to give it another day. I was also unmotivated because I knew today was pretty much only going to be climbing, but I was able to get a blue blaze shuttle from the campground to cut off the first 4 miles.

The golf ball at Apple Orchard Mountain

I trudged up to the first climb and wasn’t doing great mentally until I stopped at a shelter for lunch. I ate with Mega, Simple Man, Garfield, and El Jefe (the nice older druggies) and was able to reconnect with Sticks and Slobber before the last big climb. It was so good to see them and I know they made a conscious effort to let me catch up. We 3 caught up to Gooey at the top of the Apple Orchard Mountain (by the golf ball) and decided to road walk on the Parkway for a while. The views were great and we got an unsolicited hitch for a couple of miles.

Great day for a road walk on the parkway

The last climb up Hark Cock Knob (lol) was tough, but I’m glad to be at camp. It’s Sticks and Slobber, Truffles, Hangman, Pimento, Fro, and Boston. I am happy to be on trail still and ready for town.

The tip of High Cock Knob

bottom of page