top of page

Day 68: May 28, 2021 (7.7 miles)

Marble Springs Campsite - Glasgow Shelter


Today was a short and sweet hiking day. We ended up in tent city last night, but I was the 1st one up and out because I wanted to make the most of my time in town. I got to the shelter a couple of miles from the road and ran into Scout Master and Nate and we waited out the rain before Scout Master and I hiked out.

Scout Master at the longest footbridge on the AT entering Glasgow, VA

I think of him as my trail dad, we were having so much fun chatting that we missed the turn for the footbridge into town and had to backtrack. We did get some awesome trail magic from Jennifer, she made us burgers and hotdogs and prayed for us.

Nate and Scout Master enjoying trail magic from Jennifer

While we were waiting, the whole crew caught up and I convinced a random local to give 8 of us a ride in his pickup truck. He even ratchet strapped our packs to his toolbox in the truck bed.

Hikers to town! Sticks, Slobber, Truffles, Magic, Pimento, Fro, Boston, and Hangman all piled into the truck bed with out packs

We stayed at the town sponsored shelter and it honestly had everything we needed (showers, electricity, and port a potties). There were even floaties so we went for a swim in the river before the rain.

Nero into town is even better when it turns into a river day

We went for lunch at the only restaurant in town to get some lovely pizza. Once we made it back to the shelter we resupplied and drank some Bud heavies before building a fire and chilling for a while. Green and I formed a plan to skip ahead and meet Creature and Dumb Horse tomorrow, but I am on the fence about leaving my new friends...

bottom of page