top of page

Day 86: June 16, 2021 (14 miles)

Dahlgren Campground - Ensign Cowell Shelter


First real day back on trail in what seems like forever! I tried to sleep in this morning because I knew it would be an easier day, but I was still up and out by 8am. Within the first couple of miles was the Washington Monument, it was basically just a wannabe lighthouse on a hill.

Washington Monument State Park in Maryland

The terrain was so flat, I was cruising without trying and decided to slow down for breaks. I sat on a log and met SoBo Ray who was lovely! We chatted for over an hour by the trail all about his travels and our experiences on trail so far. There were TONS of day hikers out and about, they all smelled so clean.


I took an early lunch at the Annapolis Rocks and ended up sitting there for nearly 2 hours... I really enjoy not feeling like I'm in a hurry! Again the terrain was so easy - I was able to boogie after lunch and made it to the shelter by 3pm.


DQ was there and he and I hung out until Cardinal and Wildcat showed up. Fro, Boston, AKA, and Superman all stopped by for a bit before pushing to the next shelter. I laugh a lot with all these guys. Sherlock arrived and we all ate dinner together before DQ and I decided to watch a movie. Excited for a "big"/normal day tomorrow, I've been slow.

bottom of page