top of page

Day 93: June 23, 2021 (15 miles)

Cove Mountain Shelter - Peter's Mountain Shelter


Another successful hero into town! I didn't sleep great because I have a hole in my sleeping pad and because a porcupine kept trying to chew on the shelter... never the less, I slept in and left camp around 8:30am. It was a quick 4 miles into town (Duncannon, PA) and I went to Kind of Outdoorsy Outfitters to knock out my town chores. First I resupplied at a gas station (lol) then went to KOO to drop my pack and then headed to breaky with Teach, Mac 'N Cheeze, Avatar, and 6 Pack. It was delicious at a deer/redneck-themed restaurant named Goodies.

Artwork in the bathroom at Goodies

After breakfast came the laundry adventure, the highlights including me changing into my Frog Togs behind a Pepsi machine and then attempting to find the hole in my sleeping pad on the sidewalk outside the laundry mat. Once laundry was done, all my chores were complete, but I couldn't leave until I found the hole. One of the ladies at KOO felt sorry for me and tried to help me pour soapy water on my pad, and when that failed she suggested I submerge my pad in the creek. Bingo! I found the hole, patched it, and left town by 2pm.

Mural in town in Duncannon, PA

Kind of bummed I never made it to the Doyle, but I figured it would be less fun alone. I cranked out the remaining 11 miles and got my first taste of "Rocksylvania". I made it to this super nice shelter and am sleeping with Teach, Peacefoot, Shire, and Woodoo. Felt like I accomplished a lot today! Excited to catch Sticks, Slobber, and The Mississippi Bros.

The trail town of Duncannon, PA

bottom of page