top of page

Day 95: June 25, 2021 (18 miles)

Rausch Gap Shelter - 501 Shelter


Today was another easy breezy day. My sleeping pad deflated again overnight, and some asshole got to the shelter super late- needless to say, I didn't sleep great. I was on the trail by 8am and hiked until I found a deep enough creek to plunge my pad in and find the hole. Thankfully I was able to figure out that I hadn't properly patched the hole in Duncannon, so I slapped another patch on and *hopefully* it'll hold.


I got my first taste of rock fields today - really not looking forward to northern PA. At one point there was a legit swamp I had to log hop to get across which made me laugh out loud. Sometimes the random shit we get outside into out here is just comical. The day was very uneventful - I get bored while hiking and listened to a lot of music, podcasts, and books.


I cranked out 14 miles before stopping at a shelter with Howdy and Fire Dance for lunch. I didn't realize I was only 4 miles from 501 Shelter so I went super slow and just chilled; still got here by 5pm.


This shelter is amazing! I took a very cold shower, ordered pizza, got to soak my feet (thanks to the caretakers, Borderline), and am currently sitting around a fire. Life is good. Linking up with Sticks and the Mississippi Bros tomorrow or the next day.

Classy vandalism somewhere in PA

bottom of page