top of page

Day 96: June 26, 2021 (10 miles)

501 Shelter - 183 Stealth Site


What an unexpected brief and lovely day! Again, I did not sleep well because my sleeping pad deflated... I had leftover pizza for breakfast and chatted with some former thru hikers before leaving the shelter around 9am. I was feeling kind of homesick all morning and took a snack break to call Dad.


Shortly after I found literally the most beautiful swimming hole I've ever seen - the water was aqua blue, there were trees all around, a small waterfall, and rope swings! Since I was there alone I didn't want to swim, but I got in the freezing water to try and find the hole in my sleeping pad. I found 4 (!!!) and tried my best to patch them (spoiler alert - it didn't work). I am very frustrated about my pad and may end up breaking down and buying another because this is ridiculous.

Hidden gem of a swimming hole hidden off trail

The plan was to go to the shelter 15 miles from 501 then hike 9 miles into Port Clinton tomorrow with Gooey to link up with Sticks and Crew. The hike today was again boring, but I ran into Haymitch and we walked together for a while.


I hiked 1,200 as of today - crazy to think there are fewer miles ahead than behind me.

Haymitch and I stumbled upon Trail Angel Mary's trail magic and were sucked in... she fed us lunch, dinner, and is letting us camp! Breakfast before heading into town tomorrow!

Dinner made with lots of love from Trail Angel Mary and her crew!



bottom of page